I Can See Clearly Now

Standard

Today was Christmas, a day filled with perpetual joy. Today was the day for giving gifts, eating home-cooked food and spending time with family and friends. Today was basically a day to rival all days. Today was…actually a pretty normal day if I should say so. Unlike most families, we didn’t exchange gifts. We didn’t all pile into one house and have a joyous occasion. Actually my family was split up like broken pieces to a Level 9000 jigsaw puzzle. I love them for this.

I must sound crazy but hear me out. I love the confusion. I love the mind-numbing talks. I love the arguments. I love the embarrassing moments. I’ll actually get more specific. I love the fact that my brother and I have to sit down and have deep discussions on whose house we’re going to visit. I love that its okay we kind of come in eat a bit and sweep out the door like the wind to our next destination. I love that we as a family barely see each other but we just know how to pick up where we left off last visit. My family is extraordinary for this. To better understand my family and my hectic lifestyle, I shall break own my Christmas entirely.

12:25 A.M: My brother and I are chilling in the living room on our computers. The sound of the television and typing is the only sound heard. Upon seeing the time, we both look up and say a quick, genuine, but lazy “Merry Christmas” to each other before putting out heads back down. The only difference is now there are smiles plastered to our faces as the Christmas spirit starts to invade our bodies.

10:00 A.M: I am just waking up. The smell of coffee has invaded my nostrils and my sense are now alert. My first sight upon opening my eyes is my father walking around in his briefs with the first cup of joe from the pot. I grab my phone and begin the process of wishing those I care dearly a happy holidays through texts. After this is over, I grab a cup of the magic elixir and sit back down.

11:00 A.M: My brother and I are getting dressed and ready to start our day. The entire time were are zooming throughout the house, we are yelling questions to each other on how this day will be handled. Eventually we settle on visiting our grandmother and aunt.

12:00 P.M: We are cruising through the streets of Baton Rouge, Kevin Gates blaring in the background. We arrive at our grandmother’s house and immediately make a plate and eat up. We speak briefly with our maternal grandma before she goes to bed, as she is not feeling well. Our mother is in a pre-work coma in her room and we shall not disturb her as she works the night shift at the prison.

1:00 P.M: We speak with our grandpa figure and joke around. We meet a couple of childhood friends in the street and start to feel nostalgic as we are all adults now. The more ironic thing is that we have this conversation in front of our old bus stop. We split from them after a warm goodbye.

2:30 P.M. – 7:30 P.M: We are once again driving though our city and pull up to our paternal aunt’s home. We are immediately greeted and ushered into the house, after they all admire my brother’s new car. There are remarks made at my lack of driving aid but eh.We fix our plates and settle in. The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete is playing on tv and my youngest aunt and I relish in seeing it already while the others are confused and intrigued by it. When my aunt stands though, I notice that I have missed so much in a few short months. I am apparently getting another cousin and my heart was filled with happiness. Movies, jokes and food filled the rest of our day and it couldn’t have been better. After a few family pictures, my brother and I are out the door, in the car and on our way home.

7:30 P.M. – now: We ride in semi-silence with a few quick conversations here and there. We arrive home at the exact same time as our father, who spent his Christmas somewhere else. What a better way to end the day than with all of us watching a pot-bellied possum from the vehicles as he walk across our driveway like he lived there. Entering the house, we all get comfortable in our respective rooms and fall into a relaxing silence. Silence so amazing, I had time to get these thoughts out.

There was no talks of presents in this. We had no trees. There was no caroling, except for me singing “Walking in a Winter Wonderland” to myself as I pulled my socks off a few minutes ago. Overall, this Christmas was awesome. I understand that nothing is stereotypical. My family made me realize nothing can and needs to be Hallmark. Our imperfect is completely perfect to me.

I really can see clearly now.

Leave a Reply

